Council



11 May 2006¹

To the Members of the Borough Council

You are summoned to attend the Annual Meeting of the Eastbourne Borough Council to be held at the Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne, on Wednesday 17 May 2006 at 12 Noon to transact the following business:

Agenda

- 1. Election of Mayor.
- 2. Minutes of meeting held on 19 April 2006 (Pages 391 to 397) previously circulated).
- 3. Appointment of Deputy Mayor.
- 4. Vote of thanks to outgoing Mayor and Mayoress.
- 5. Investiture of new Mayoress.
- **6. Mayor's Chaplain** Notification of appointment.
- 7. Notification of apologies for absence.
- 8. Borough Council Elections held on 4 May 2006.
 - (a) To receive the report of the Returning Officer Report 8(a).
 - **(b)** Welcome to newly elected Councillors:

Devonshire Ward: Councillor Steven Wallis Langney Ward: Councillor Troy Tester Old Town Ward: Councillor Anne Angel

(c) Return of re-elected Councillors:

Hampden Park Ward: Councillor Mary Pooley Meads Ward: Councillor David Stevens Ratton Ward: Councillor Colin Belsey St Anthony's Ward: Councillor David Tutt Sovereign Ward: Councillor Partick Bowker Upperton Ward: Councillor Graham Marsden

¹ (This is an updated version of the agenda from that previously published on 9 may 2006 for the purposes of public inspection so as to meet the required 5 clear-day publication deadline).

(d) Vote of thanks to outgoing Councillors. The following Councillor had been unsuccessful at the elections:-

Councillor: Service:

Maurice The former County Borough of Eastbourne:

Skilton, MBE Councillor for the Downside ward from 15 May 1961 until

elected Alderman on 20 May 1964. Served as Alderman

until 31 March 1974.

Borough of Eastbourne:

Councillor for Downside ward from 11 June 1973 until 10 May 1976 and again from 6 October 1977 until 2 May 2002 when the ward boundaries were re-drawn. Councillor for Old Town ward from 3 May 2002 until 8 May 2006.

Mayor 1991/92 and 1992/93.

Deputy Mayor 1974/75 and 1990/91

Leader of the Council 1984/85, 1985/86, 1986/87 and

1987/88

9. Election of Leader of the Council and Chairman of the Cabinet. To receive nominations and vote thereon.

10. Cabinet arrangements.

- (a) To agree that the number of members of the Cabinet shall be either 4 or 5.
- (b) To receive from the Leader of the Council the names of those Councillors to serve on the Cabinet and the Councillor to be designated as Deputy Leader of the Council and Deputy Chairman of the Cabinet.
- 11. Scrutiny and performance management Proposed changes to the Council's process. Report of Assistant Director for Strategy and Democracy Report 11.
- 12. Establishment of Council committees, appointment of chairmen, deputy chairmen and members to serve on Council committees and appointment of chairman and non-executive directors on boards.

To agree the proposed number and allocation of seats, receive nominations and vote thereon.

Note: Separate votes will be required in respect of the following where nominations have been received from both Groups:-

Body	Conservative Nomination(s)	Liberal Democrat Nomination(s)
Licensing Committee Standing Sub- Committee Chairmen (5 members)	Councillors Mrs Murray, Stevens, Taylor, Lacey, OBE and Herbert	Councillors Mrs Pooley and Marsh

- (a) Political balance and allocation of seats. Report of Local Democracy Manager Report 12a.
- (b) Nominations from Group Leaders Report 12b.
- 13. Programme of meetings for 2006/07 Report 13.
- **14. Delegation of functions To Council committees.** Council to confirm the delegation of functions to its Committees for 2006/07 as set out in its Constitution.
- **15. Appointments to outside and other bodies.** To receive nominations from Group Leaders and vote thereon **Report 15.**

Note: Separate votes will be required in respect of the following where nominations have been received from both Groups:-

Body	Conservative Nomination	Liberal Democrat Nomination
East Sussex Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee	Councillor Mrs Angel	Councillor Marsh
Eastbourne Leisure Trust	Councillor Mrs Goodall	Councillor Stanley
Eastbourne Open Bowling Tournament Management Committee	To be advised	Councillor Mrs Sims
Open Door Funders Group	Councillor Herbert	Councillor Mrs Pooley
Langney Community Association Management Committee	Mrs Stephanie Walters	Councillor Marsh

Peter Finnis

Assistant Director – Strategy and Democracy (on behalf of the Chief Executive)